Get the most out of your Centmin Mod LEMP stack
Become a Member

Sysadmin Fail2ban lockout on a broad scale?

Discussion in 'System Administration' started by squibs, Aug 2, 2019.

1. squibs

squibs New Member

Aug 2, 2019
    Ratings:
    +1
    Local Time:
    6:25 AM
    Not sure this is a bug, but wasn't sure where else to post. Please move if I'm in the wrong place.

I've been rocking a new centminmod install for a few months now. Yesterday I couldn't connect to the hosted website, couldn't connect via SSH or VNC, however I could launch a rescue system and ssh into that, mounting the drive and verifying data is fine. This suggested to me that fail2ban or firewall didn't like something I did and locked me out. However I've tried from work network and home network - 2 completely different IP addresses, and SSH or VNC will not connect. The VPS company in another country insist that they can open a connection without issue.

Could fail2ban block a whole country? Can't figure out what the issue might be, but as the rescue system accepts ssh connections, it must be a firewall thing, right? Any suggestions appreciated.

2. eva2000

eva2000 Administrator Staff Member

May 24, 2014
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +15,696
    Local Time:
    3:25 PM
    Nginx 1.17.x
    MariaDB 5.5/10.x
    What centmin mod version ? when was it last updated ?

OS version ? CentOS 6 or 7 ?

Web host ?

How was fail2ban installed and configured ? As Centmin Mod doesn't install fail2ban out of the box

You can verify if it's CSF Firewall by doing a grep filter of your /var/log/messages log to see if there are entries with your IP address listed.

Where you replace 184.105.xxx.xxx with your ISP IP address or the IP address of user who is having issues uploading via pure-ftpd virtual FTP user
    Code (Text):
    grep '184.105.xxx.xxx' /var/log/messages |