Want to subscribe to topics you're interested in?
Become a Member

SSL Cloudflare Can someone explain how to toggle CF off with Auth. Org. Pulls enabled?

Discussion in 'Domains, DNS, Email & SSL Certificates' started by FluxTux, Oct 11, 2019.

1. FluxTux

FluxTux New Member

Sep 22, 2019
    Ratings:
    +2
    Local Time:
    4:58 PM
    Hi there all!

As I'm relatively new to CMM I'm struggling to understand a few mechanisms in regards to CMM vs Cloudflare as proxy.

Hope some kind experienced CMM techie(s) maybe able to help out a bit and explain a few things or point me elsewhere for answers. Probably, on a deeper level I'm trying to wrap my head around a few server management fundamentals as well so please bear over with me.

My questions probably relates to lack of understanding of how a bidirectional SSL setup works between a CMM server using Cloudflare as proxy. Still I hope to be pointed towards a best practice in regards to how to toggle Cloudflare protection on/off for a domain when the CF proxy setup has been secured activating CF Authentication Origin Pulls.

Point of it all is to be able to test CMM server's performance independently of the CDN - which seems to be a hassle as I earlier today struggled with a bunch of 400 errors trying to 'rollback' the CF pulls.

FYI the setup used looks like this:
    • Running latest version of CMM beta branch (123.09beta01)
    • Installed WP + SSL cert for my domain using CMM / acmetool via option 22. The chosen option for SSL is option for.
    • Setup Cloudflare as proxy running a SSL cert (set to Full mode) and enabled "Authenticated Origin Pulls" via CF as well cf. the safety recommendations in regards to avoiding IP leaks put forward @eva2000 in the start guide.
    • Whitelisted Cloudflare IPs on the server following the CMM guide (dont have link to post at hand).
    The CF pulls setup worked fine out of the box after setting it all up. No errors whatsoever.